Request a demo

Standards for Software Quality Assurance

Your digital products cannot be improved. Software quality assurance guidelines, also known as software quality assurance principles, assist organizations in developing policies and success factors. Internal and external software quality assurance standards can be employed. Businesses and organizations operate across borders to ensure that products can be marketed and utilized in another.

Among the major software quality assurance standards are:

  • ISO 9000 family

  • Integration of the Capability Maturity Model

  • Integration of the Test Maturity Model

  • Military quality standards

ISO 9000 family

ISO 9001, 9002, 9003, and other standards are part of the International Organization For Standardization (ISO) 9000 family. This ISO standard series of software quality assurance standards originally concerned industrial measures and issues. Still, they have evolved into a globally renowned standard with a profound impact over several day-to-day digital operations. ISO 9000 certification means that digital assets fulfill minimal digital quality management criteria and that consumers have a foundation of trust in those items.

The exhaustive ISO 9001 standard extends to businesses of all sizes and sectors that create, design, produce, and manage services or products. Based on the organization, over one million firms in 170 countries have achieved ISO 9001 accreditation. Different industry-specific standards, such as ISO/IEC/IEEE 90003:2018 for software development, are available to help professionals with the quality of products.

Integration of the Capability Maturity Model (CMMI)

CMMI, mandated by many federal contracts, directs development and software quality assurance procedures for initiatives, teams, and organizations. CMMI unifies activities across organizational levels and establishes specific goals for process development.

CMMI identifies five degrees of maturity that an organization can achieve:

Level 1: Beginning. "Processes are extremely unexpected, poorly managed, and reactive."

Level 2: Controlled. "Processes that are project-specific and frequently reactive."

Level 3. Defined  "Processes that are described as organizational and aggressive."

Level 4: Managed quantitatively. "Processes are monitored and managed."

Level 5: Optimisation. "Pay attention to process improvement."

To grow to higher stages of maturity, the organization must master many practice areas. These fields include project planning, development, process improvement, and assistance. While sectors address quality differently, the Process and Products Quality Assurance (PPQA) process area directs inspections and software quality assurance operations.

Test Maturity Model integration (TMMi)

The TMMi is inspired by the CMMI and provides a comparative approach to software quality assurance assistance, advancing businesses along a maturity ladder. TMMi, on the other hand, is designed exclusively for testing.

Organizations begin at the bottom and progress through five levels:

Level 1: Beginning. There is no stated scope. This is the first stage.

Level 2: Controlled. It addresses test policy and strategy, scheduling, tracking, design and implementation, and settings.

Level 3. Defined.  Test organization, a training program, the STLC and integration, non-functional testing, and expert evaluations are all included.

Level 4: Managed quantitatively. Examines test assessment, product or software quality, and specialized reviews.

Level 5: Optimisation. Improves defect identification, testing, and quality management.

The purpose of these testing improvement activities is to strengthen the organization by connecting more often with business efforts as the team moves to entirely new levels. As a result, there ought to be fewer flaws, and comprehensive testing will be more effective.

Military quality standards

For years, the United States government had distinct criteria for contractors to meet while developing military technology and hardware. Among the key standards prescribing technical criteria for everything from project specifications and procedures to paperwork and inspections was MIL-Q-9858A, entitled A Quality Program. MIL-STD-498 and DOD-STD-2167 are two additional military standards. Yet, the government has slowly begun to adhere to ISO standards. Various departments and organizations in the public sector may comply with and need different guidelines. 

To ensure adherence to the above-mentioned software quality assurance standards in your organization, you can seek assistance from Hvantage.

Related Posts

Hvantage Technologies Inc.

Hvantage is a global technology and an outsourcing company which has gained domain expertise on Banking, Consumer Products, High tech, Insurance, Financial Services, and Retail, It provides its clients with world-class software solutions and support services which are tailored by unique requirements for clients across the globe. Ranging from Information Technology services designed for business productivity to expert installation, outsourcing, and implementation to Hosted Solutions, our IT services & products are best-fit solutions viable to serve the global IT sectors.